Published on: 01 November 2017 in Industry

Directors UK members named among BIFA directing nominees

Reading time: 1 minutes and 5 seconds

The nominations for the 2017 British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs) were announced on the morning of Wednesday 1 November, with Directors UK members featuring in both the Best Director and Best Debut Director categories.

Members Armando Ianucci and Martin McDonagh are both included in the Best Director category, for The Death of Stalin and Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri respectively. The category also includes directors Francis Lee (God’s Own Country), Rungano Nyoni (I Am Not A Witch) and William Oldroyd (Lady Macbeth)

Meanwhile, in the Best Debut Director category (also known as the Douglas Hickox Award) member Deborah Haywood is nominated for Pin Cushion. Francis Lee, Rungano Nyoni and William Oldroyd are all nominated again, as is Thomas Napper for Jawbone.

The final winners will be announced at a London ceremony hosted by Mark Gatiss on December 10. Congratulations to the aforementioned members, and to all of this year’s BIFA nominees. 

Read a full list of nominations here. 

You may also like

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more