Published on: 13 July 2023 in Industry

2023 Emmy Nominations announced

Reading time: 3 minutes and 44 seconds

The nominations for the 2023 Emmy Awards were announced by the Television Academy last night (Wednesday 12 July), with several Directors UK members receiving recognition across the categories.

In the Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series category, members Benjamin Caron (Andor, Rix Road), Peter Hoar (The Last of Us, Long, Long Time), Mark Mylod (Succession, Connor’s Wedding), and Dearbhla Walsh (Bad Sisters, The Prick), were nominated for their work on their respective projects, as were fellow directors Andrij Parekh (Succession, America Decides), Lorene Scafaria (Succession, Living+), Mike White (The White Lotus, Arrivederci).

Meanwhile, Directors UK member Declan Lowney (Ted Lasso, So Long, Farewell) was nominated for Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series, alongside Mary Lou Belli (The Ms. Pat Show, Don't Touch My Hair), Tim Burton (Wednesday, Wednesday's Child Is Full Of Woe), Bill Hader (Barry, wow), Amy Sherman-Palladino (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Four Minutes), and Christopher Storer (The Bear, Review) 

Member Hamish Hamilton received a nomination for The Apple Music Super Bowl LVII Halftime Show Starring Rihanna, also directed by Shawn Carter, in the Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special category. Also nominated in this category are Joel Gallen (Chris Rock: Selective Outrage), Linda Mendoza (Wanda Sykes: I’m An Entertainer), Paul Miller (Carol Burnett: 90 Years Of Laughter + Love), and Glenn Weiss (The Oscars).

Elsewhere, Paris Barclay (Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story, Silenced), Valerie Faris (Fleishman Is In Trouble, Me-Time), Carl Franklin (Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story, Bad Meat), Jake Schreier (Beef, The Great Fabricator), Lee Sung Jin (Beef, Figures of Light) and Dan Trachtenberg (Prey) were nominated for Outstanding Directing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie.

In the Outstanding Directing For A Variety Series category, André Allen (The Problem With Jon Stewart, Chaos, Law, And Order), Andy Fisher (Jimmy Kimmel Live!, 20th Anniversary Special), Jim Hoskinson (The Late Show With Stephen Colbert, John Oliver; Broadway Cast Of The Lion King), Liz Patrick (Saturday Night Live, Co-Hosts: Steve Martin & Martin Short) and Paul Pennolino (Last Week Tonight With John Oliver, Afghanistan) were recognised for their work.

In the world of factual, directors Ken Burns (The U.S. And The Holocaust, Episode 3: The Homeless, Tempest-tossed (1942 – )), Davis Guggenheim (Still: A Michael J. Fox Movie), Brett Morgen (Moonage Daydream), Davina Pardo (Judy Blume Forever), Alex Pritz (The Territory), and Lana Wilson (Pretty Baby: Brooke Shields), were nominated for Outstanding Directing For A Documentary/Nonfiction Program. You can listen to our podcast episode with Alex Pritz here.

Finally, nominated for Outstanding Director For A Reality Program are directors Ariel Boles (Top Chef, London Calling), Ali Moghadas (Queer Eye, Speedy For Life), Bertram van Munster (The Amazing Race, Patience, Is The New Me), Nick Murray (RuPaul’s Drag Race, Wigloose: The Rusical!) and Bryan Rowland (Welcome To Wrexham).

Congratulations to all Directors UK members whose work is nominated at this year’s award ceremony. The 75th annual Primetime Emmy Awards ceremony will take place on Monday 18 September. Read the full list of nominations here.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more