Published on: 05 September 2012 in Industry

Michell, Potter and Winterbottom amongst host of Brit directors in LFF line-up

Reading time: 2 minutes and 7 seconds

The programme for the 2012 London Film Festival was announced today (5th September), with new Festival Director Clare Stewart revealing several changes to the format from previous years.

The 2012 Festival sees the introduction of a number of new strands to the programme: Love, Debate, Dare, Laugh, Thrill, Cult, Journey, Sonic and Family. However, alongside these categories are the traditional Gala screenings, an area where British directors are well represented once again. The Closing Night Gala, announced at the end of August, is Mike Newell’s adaptation of Charles Dickens’ Great Expectations, whilst Hyde Park on Hudson by Roger Michell (pictured right) is this year’s Centrepiece Gala.

The Debate Gala is Sophie Fiennes’ The Pervert’s Guide to Ideology, whilst the May Fair Hotel Gala will be Paul Andrew Williams’ Song for Marion. Ben Wheatley’s Sightseers has been announced as the Laugh Gala, with A Liar’s Autobiography, directed by Bill Jones, Jeff Simpson and Ben Timlett, chosen for the Cult Gala.

12 films have been selected in the inaugural Official Competition line-up, a list which includes three well-known British directors. Michael Winterbottom’s latest film Everyday, Martin McDonagh’s Seven Psychopaths and Sally Potter’s Ginger and Rosa will go up against the likes of Jacques Audiard and David Ayer, amongst others, for the hotly-contested prize. Meanwhile, in Documentary Competition, Brick Lane director Sarah Gavron’s first foray into the factual genre, Village at the End of the World, is one of 13 documentaries in contention.

British directors also feature across the festival’s multiple new strands: Rufus Norris’ debut film Broken is featured in the Love category, whilst in Debate, Lenny Abrahamson’s latest picture What Richard Did makes an appearance. In Thrill, Nick Murphy’s Blood and Barnaby Southcombe’s I, Anna are set to screen, and The Road: A Story of Life and Death, directed by Marc Isaacs, is amongst the films selected for Journey.

Finally, Lisa Barros D’Sa and Glenn Leyburn Good Vibrations and Mat Whitecross’ Spike Island will make their bow in the Sonic category.

The London Film Festival runs from 10-21 October 2012. For more on the line-up, visit the BFI website.

Related articles...

Barnaby Southcombe on Berlinale 2012

You may also like

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more