Published on: 28 May 2012 in Industry

BAFTA Television Awards winners announced

Reading time: 1 minutes and 27 seconds

The British Academy Television Awards were announced last night (27th May) in London.

The prize for Best Single Drama went to Random, which was directed by Debbie Tucker Green, with Best Mini Series going to Shane Meadows’ This is England ’88.

The Drama Series award went to The Fades, directed by Farren Blackburn, whilst the final drama prize of the evening - Soap and Continuing Drama – went to Coronation Street.

In Comedy, Best Sitcom was awarded to Mrs Brown’s Boys, directed by Ben Kellett, with the prize for Comedy Programme going to Stewart Lee’s Comedy Vehicle, which was directed by Tim Kirkby.

Derren Brown: The Experiments took home the award for Entertainment Programme, whilst the Andy Devonshire-directed Young Apprentice won for Reality and Constructed Factual.

Factual Series went to Our War, which was directed by John Douglas, Stuart Bernard and Bruce Goodison. Meanwhile, the award for Specialist Factual was given to Mummifying Alan: Egypt’s Last Secret, directed by Kenny Scott.

Charlie Russell’s Terry Pratchett: Choosing to Die was selected for the Single Documentary award, with Andy Devonshire picking up his second award of the night for Great British Bake-Off, which won in the Features Category.

Finally, the award for Best Current Affairs programme was given to the Undercover Care: The Abuse Exposed (Panorama), directed by Matthew Chapman.

Directors UK would like to congratulate all the winners from last night’s awards. For the full list, please click here.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more