Published on: 13 November 2020 in Industry

A successful night for members at the 2020 Grierson Awards

Reading time: 3 minutes and 10 seconds

This week the 2020 Griersons Awards were announced in a special online ceremony, and it’s terrific to once again see so many members recognized for their work, across such a wide range of categories. 

In the Best Single Documentary – Domestic category, Directors UK members Rachel Harvie and David DeHaney were took home the award for Suicidal: In Our Own Words, while Anna Hall and Brian Woods were highly commended for The Family Secret. Meanwhile, in the Best Single Documentary – International category, Directors UK member Ursula MacFarlane was highly commended for Untouchable: The Rise of Harvey Weinstein, with the overall award going to Crip Camp, directed by Nicole Newham and James LeBrecht.

In the Best Current Affairs Documentary category, member Robin Barnwell took home the award for Undercover: Inside China’s Digital Gulag, while members Monica Garnsey and Chris Mitchell were highly commended for Undercover with Clerics: Iraq’s Secret Sex Trade. Elsewhere, Directors UK member Brian Hill was highly commended for Terms and Conditions: A UK Drill Story, and the category was won by Show Me the Picture: The Story of Jim Marshall directed by Alfred George Bailey.

The Best Historical Documentary category saw members Clare Cameron and Edmund Coulthard take home the award for Jade: The Reality Star Who Changed Britain, while members Arthur Cary and Morgan Matthews won the Best Science Documentary award for War in the Blood. In the Best Natural History Documentary category, Directors UK members Christian CollertonJoe Evans and Neil Crombie won for The Last Igloo

The award for Best Entertaining Documentary went to The Misadventures of Romesh Ranganathan: Zimbabwe, directed by members Morgan Roberts and Chris Cottram. Meanwhile, members Clare Cameron and Edmund Coulthard picked up their second award for Jade: The Reality Star Who Changed Britain, triumphing in the Best Documentary Series. In the Best Constructed Documentary Series category, members Benjamin Leigh and Louise Bartmann took home the award for The Restaurant that Makes Mistakes.

Finally, member Edward Watts and Waad Al Kateab won the Best Cinema Documentary award for For Sama, and Directors UK member Asif Kapadia was presented with the prestigious Grierson Trustees’ Award.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners and nominees, a testament to the incredible range of talent, creativity and ability in the factual community. You can read a full list of winners here, including judges comments. Also, if you missed the event, you can re-watch the entire stream of the ceremony on YouTube via this link

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more